GuitarTricks Review


  • April 6, 2018
  • 20 

Updated: February 25, 2021

If you’re considering getting a GuitarTricks membership, there are a few things you should know first. GuitarTricks has been offering online guitar lessons to its members for several years now – but is a GuitarTricks membership right for you? 

Updated: February 25, 2021

Overall Score: 9.1/10

guitartricks review

As a guitar teacher, and current GuitarTricks member, I take a look under the hood of a paid membership to discuss the various features. This GuitarTricks review is to help you decide if a membership is worth it, or if your money would be better spent elsewhere.

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links which we may make a small commission from should you make a purchase, at no extra cost to you. All opinions are genuine and our own. Affiliate Notice

With free YouTube lessons, an overflow of online guitar TABs and sheet music costing an all-time low, online lessons may seem like a waste to some. If you’ve ever tried to just watch a video of someone playing a song, or just learn a song by the printed music, you know it can be very frustrating. GuitarTricks has been removing this frustration for guitarists since 1996!

Founded even before YouTube, GuitarTricks offers some of the highest quality online guitar lessons available. This in-depth review will tell you everything you need to know about them.

GuitarTricks At A Glance

Remember how I was talking about being frustrated by learning from YouTube lessons? This is where a guitar lesson membership site like GuitarTricks really helps you out. The arsenal of features at your disposal, including an active forum full of guitarists ready to help you progress! Here are just a few of the features GuitarTricks has to offer:

  • “Core Learning System”
  • Over 400 Authentic Song Lessons
  • 8,000+ and growing library of online guitar lessons
  • Supplemental Material for every lesson, including TABs
  • Over 40 Instructors to pick from- Making finding a great match simple!
  • Jam Track Library with over 100 different tracks to choose from
  • Expansive Chord and Scale finder
  • Customizable Metronome
  • Dozens of genres to pick from, such as: Blues, Country, Rock, Metal and Jazz
  • And many other great features!

You can see the whole list of features on GuitarTrick’s website: Here.

Membership Analysis

91% Overall

85%
LESSON QUALITY
90%
LESSON VARIETY
90%
SONG VARIETY
90%
INTERFACE
100%
SUPPORT
90%
VALUE
Monthly

$

19.95

/mo

  • Active Forum
  • Chord Library
  • Free Trial
  • Guitar/Bass Tuner
  • Jam Tracks
  • Lesson TABs
  • Live Streaming Lessons
  • Scale Library
  • Song Lessons
  • 45 Professional Guitar Instructors
  • 60 Day Money Back Guarantee
  • Score: 9.1/10
annual

$

179

/yr



Save 25% with an annual membership. An annual GuitarTricks membership comes with all the same lessons and features as a monthly membership. 








Interested in trying GuitarTricks for 14 days free? Click the “Visit GuitarTricks” button above and you’ll be brought to a special sign up page. Enjoy your free trial!

GuitarTricks History

Since 1998 GuitarTricks has been providing high quality online guitar lessons to their members. Originally founded by guitarist Jon Broderick, as a small website with just a handful of video lessons has grown to a collection of 45 professional guitar instructors and over 8,000 lessons to choose from.

One thing many don’t realize is that they were the first to do this. While there are now dozens of online guitar lessons sites, GuitarTricks is the one that started it all.

Over 400 Song Lessons!

Beginning and Intermediate guitarists most often list learning their favorite song as their #1 goal. However, many people skip over the fundamentals to achieve this goal. Don’t worry, GuitarTricks offers an arsenal of over 400 completely authentic song lessons. Many of these lessons are taught by the artist that wrote them!

However, before you go and learn all the songs you can handle, you need to learn a few things first. It’s a lot like that old saying, “You wouldn’t build a house without a foundation” or on a crappy foundation.. or something like that. Anyway, the same applies to playing an instrument.

Anyone with some time can become skilled at an instrument, but to be a truly excellent musician a student must learn many different aspects of their instrument. Theory, ear training, dexterity, speed and string skipping exercises must all be included in a students weekly learning. These are just to name a few examples.

 The “Core Learning System”

It is for this precise reason that GuitarTricks has spent the last 8 years developing what they call the “Core Learning System”. Since 2005 they have been expertly building this 1,500 lesson series geared to bring you from a Beginner to a Pro as fast as possible.

These lessons start with the complete basics, such as pick holding techniques and guitar positioning and go all the way down to more advanced techniques such as sweeps and two-hand taps!

My favorite part about the system is how it branches after the first 2 stages. Depending on your own individual taste you can choose to continue following the Core Learning System with either a Blues, Country or Rock influence.

When I started out I learned Rock guitar. When I was reviewing GuitarTricks I was getting really into Blues, though. With that, I went with the Blues lessons. The lessons were great! I didn’t go through all of them, I’ll be honest. Yet, in a dozen or so lessons I was jamming out and improvising my own Blues tracks.

Monthly

$

19.95

/mo

  • Active Forum
  • Chord Library
  • Free Trial
  • Guitar/Bass Tuner
  • Jam Tracks
  • Lesson TABs
  • Live Streaming Lessons
  • Scale Library
  • Song Lessons
  • 45 Professional Guitar Instructors
  • 60 Day Money Back Guarantee
  • Score: 9.1/10
annual

$

179

/yr



Save 25% with an annual membership. An annual GuitarTricks membership comes with all the same lessons and features as a monthly membership. 








GuitarTricks Review: The Bottom Line

The Good

For 15 years GuitarTricks has offered top quality guitar lessons at an affordable price: $14.95/mo. With a 1,500 guitar lesson series and over 400 song lessons, it’s hard to beat a value like that. That’s not to mention all the other valuable resources made available with a full membership such as a chord and scale library, jam tracks and a metronome.

There are many more features, however these are the few I believe to be most valuable to my guitar students. Any lesson can be played at any time. You don’t have to play them in order. Choose from a variety of genre’s, lesson categories such as speed, song writing, etc.

The Bad

My only complaint is the way the site is set up. It is fairly easy to find where you want to go. However, beware the “back” button on your browser. If you are viewing a page and simply want to go back, you should be sure to find a link to the previous page. Hitting the back button brings up an ugly error screen that you need to “refresh” to fix. This is just a minor flaw, an annoyance at worst.

I’d like to think that a company that has been around as long as GuitarTricks would have such a small issue fixed already.  Other than this, I really appreciated the effort that went into the rest of the GuitarTricks site and features that a full membership provides.

With a 2 week free trial and a 60 Day Money back guarantee, it’s hard to beat the value GuitarTricks offers.

I hope you found this GuitarTricks review helpful! Did I leave anything out? If you have any questions, comments or concerns, leave them in the comments below and I'll get you an answer!

Frequently Asked Questions

Does GuitarTricks Offer a Free Trial?

Yes! We found a 2 week free trial to GuitarTricks.com. Click the link for more details.

Does GuitarTricks Offer a Refund?

Yup! GuitarTricks has a 60 Day Money Back Guarantee. All you have to do is cancel your billing and shoot them an eMail explaining why you’d like your money back. It’s rare, but some people are unhappy with the service. A student of mine did not like it, cancelled and told me “If nothing else, they were excellent to work with.

Is There A Helpful Community?

Absolutely. GuitarTricks has a constantly growing community of guitar players in their forums.

Is There A Limit On How Many Lessons I Can Take?

Nope! All 8,000+ lessons are available to you with a membership. You may watch, re-watch, and bookmark lessons as often as you’d like!

Summary
Review Date
Reviewed Item
GuitarTricks
Author Rating
41star1star1star1stargray
Product Name
GuitarTricks
Price
USD 20
Product Availability
Available in Stock

posted April 6, 2018

Read more: 

March 22, 2021

A Major is one of the most popular guitar chords in music, found in ...

Read More

March 16, 2021

In this lesson you will learn how to play the E Major guitar chord, ...

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Good review, I think it will be useful for new guitar students. What do you think about DVD based lessons, such as the Blues Learning System from GuitarTricks or the dvd of Learn and Master?

    1. Hi Gianca, thank you very much for the comment & questions. I personally fully endorse DVD based lessons. In fact, I learned how to play guitar through DVD lessons many years ago. I believe with the right additional features, such as an online community for support, DVD lessons are an excellent means of learning guitar. I actually wrote a review for both GuitarTricks Blues Guitar Lessons as well as Learn and Master Guitar. Click the names to read the review!

      Thanks again for the great question/comment!

  2. Learning to play guitar and piano is one of my dreams and I am glad to know that there’s a place I can find help to improve my skills. I love the site too, very clean and artistic

    1. Hey Ryan, sorry to hear you haven’t been playing much recently. Admittedly, I haven’t much either just from working on this site so much and private lessons. No worries! The wonderful thing about guitar is that it all comes rushing back to you super quick. Thanks for the feedback!

  3. I’ve always wanted to play the “gee-tar” but never had the time. I’ve bookmarked this awesome site so when I do, I will buy this course as well.

    1. Hey Ithamar, thanks for the comment! Depending on your goals, you could learn guitar in as little as 30 min a day a few days a week. Of course it isn’t ideal for progress, but can certainly be done. Good luck and I hope you get to pick up your guitar someday soon!

  4. Hi, this is a great review. I’m a guitar player of 27 odd years now, I even taught a while myself many moons ago. I figured that with all the technology available today, lessons must likely have moved on to be even more accessible through the various online mediums. It’s cool to see that it has and that there are really good quality services out there like this one, as I imagine there is plenty of crap too.

    1. Hi Colm, thanks for the comment. I’m glad you found the review helpful. You’re absolutely right on both accounts! The advancements in technology have lead to some incredible online guitar resources. However… The accessibility of these new innovations have also increased the hoards of crap polluting the web. Luckily, these guys aren’t one of them!

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close